Save & Share Map

save map

The Save Map feature allows the user to save maps to be accessed at a later time. The Save Map feature can be used in various ways to change the default setting of an account or to enable the regeneration of a map at a specific location.

 

Saving a Map


To begin saving a map, click on the orange Save Map button. The following screen should open.

Save Map Box

Save Map Box

On the save map dialogue to the left, there are several fields to choose from. The text box lets the user type in the name of the map to be saved. Just below the text box is a checkbox that allows the user to set the map as the default. If it is checked, it will mean when the user logs into the AbaData 2.0 program, the settings based on that default map will automatically be loaded. In the Save Options: section of the Save Map dialogue box, the user can also choose what elements of the map to save. The Map Display Settings & Filters checkbox will retain the active layers, the Map Location checkbox will save the location, and the Map Customizations checkbox will save all user-drawn entities on the saved map.

The Map Customizations checkbox will only be active if the Map Location checkbox is also selected. If the user wished to update a map which was previously saved, the map can be selected from the list rather than typing in a new name for the saved map. Once the settings are set as desired, click on the Save button to save the map.

 

Open a Saved Map


To open a saved map, click on the Load Maps text just below the Save Map button.

open saved     confirm load

There will be a number in brackets indicating how many saved maps are available on the AbaData 2.0 account being used. Click on the name of the map you wish to load, and a confirmation window will appear.

The confirmation window warns that if a saved map is loaded, settings and map customizations on the current map may be lost. Clicking the Yes button will immediately load the saved map.

 

Share Saved Maps


edit saved

The user can Share, Edit and Delete saved maps by clicking on the Edit text at the top right of the Load Maps list. Sharing a map allows another user of a separate AbaData 2.0 account to open a view a saved map created on another account. Even though a shared map can be opened and viewed, only a user on the account that was used to create the Saved Map can save changes to it.

Shared with dialogue

Shared with dialogue

When the share icon is clicked, the dialogue at above will appear. Any existing shared users of the map will be listed, and the Add Shares button can be clicked to allow new users to view the saved map.

Add Share Dialogue

Add Share Dialogue

Once the Add Shares button is selected, all companies with AbaData contracts will show up in the list. The user may search for a company, or first and last name of the individual named on the AbaData contract. Once a contract is selected in the list, click on the Select button.

Confirm Share

Confirm Share

At this point a prompt will appear questioning whether the map should be shared with all the users under a contract. In some cases, there may be many AbaData 2.0 user accounts under one contract, and clicking the Yes button will make the saved map available to all of them.

Add Share Contract

Add Share Contract

If the No button is clicked under the Confirm Share screen, a listing of all individual users under a contract will appear in a list. The user wishing to share the map may now select one or more of those users and click the Select button to activate the share.

 

Edit Saved Maps


edit saved

Clicking on the Pencil icon on the Edit saved maps screen will bring up the Edit Saved Map dialogue box. The user can change the name of the saved map, or make the map the default map. If a previous default map has been identified, making a different map the default will remove the default setting from the previous one, as there can only be one AbaData 2.0 default map per user account.

Edit Saved Dialogue

The Edit Saved Map dialogue does not allow any of the saved map settings to be changed. To change the settings the saved map would have to be overwritten by using the Save Map feature.

 

Delete Saved Maps


edit saved

If the red X at the far right of the Edit screen is clicked, the Delete Saved Map dialogue will appear as shown to the below.

Delete Confirm

Delete Confirm

If the Yes button is clicked, the saved map will be permanently deleted from the account that created it and all shared accounts.